In 2007 I was fortunate enough to be assigned a review of the spoken word performance of Solomon Sparrows Electric Whale Revival (http://www.myspace.com/whalerevival) for my campus newspaper. This performance was perhaps the closest I’ll ever come to understand how religious people probably feel during a particularly significant sermon. Today this post by brownflotsam reminded me of this power and how words, when used truly correctly, can hold so much power and emotion that you’re experiencing them before you even really understand the full meaning of what you’re hearing.

contradictory multitudes

I like words.  I like the look and the sound and the texture of them.  And I believe they are capable of more truth and communication than most of the human race typically permits them.  How are you?  Fine thanks, and you?  Can’t complain.  Well I can, and I do.

Presenting poems that make words do what they are supposed to.

‘If Only Out of Vanity’ by Stayceyann ChinIf only out of vanity text

Stayceyann Chin’s vision of who she wants to be sounds like fun.  My version is one who can finally dye her hair bright purple (or maybe green) without needing to stew in bleach for six hours.  Defy all attempts to be reductionist with reality (and magic).  Ride a bike with a trailer and bright flags (and possibly a diamond tipped pointy thing).  And cross roads with a brood that knows to look on all sides before…

View original post 261 more words

Questions, comments, concerns? Leave them here!

